29 November 2015

Sons of the Sphinx - "An imaginative yet historical retelling of King Tut’s full life story"

About the Books

Cheryl Carpinello Egypt LegendTitle: Sons of the Sphinx | Author: Cheryl Carpinello | Publication Date: October 10, 2014 | Publisher: Beyond Today Educator | Pages: 192 | Recommended Ages: 10+
Book Description:
Armed with what she considers her grandmother’s curse, 15-year-old Rosa agrees to help the ghost of King Tut find his lost queen Hesena. Though Hesena’s ba inhabits part of Rosa, finding the whole spirit of Hesena so that she and Tut can be together for the first time in over 3000 years proves to be a harder task than Rosa first thinks. Thrust back into Ancient Egypt with Tut, Rosa discovers that finding Hesena is not all she must do. She must keep out of the reach of the living Horemheb - who crosses mortal boundaries using Seth’s evil magic - if she is to stay alive to make it back home.

Amazon * Barnes & Noble * Smashwords * iTunes * Goodreads

28 November 2015

Full of twists and turns... a must read. - LibraryThing Early Reviewer

I loved this book! Think Agatha Christie meets Sherlock Holmes and you're got it. Loved the Olde English charm from the setting of the book to the characters. The author grabs you from the first page.
The author takes you to a country home in Surrey, where Witton Park is located. It is a elegant home owned by Walter Sinnet, a not so nice man who has made his fortune by conning everyone around him. He has built this estate to be extremely lavish with man made lakes and an underwater folly smoking room. The Sinnet's are having a party with some interesting guests, one of which will be his demise. Everyone is a suspect when Walter is found floating above his own folly dead. Who would want him dead? The better question should be who wouldn't want him dead. All the guests have a reason to want him dead, even his wife. Yikes! In comes Inspector Marcus Thomas and the bumbling Constable Turner. They are there to try and figure out what is going on at the estate. Inspector Thomas's son James even tries to get in on the action since he is off school. Will they be able to flush out the killer before he or she leaves Witton Park scott free???
This book gives you a great mystery and who dunit as well as a fun adventure full of twists and turns. I didn't know who the killer was till the very end! I was shocked. This is a must read.

The Author
Having always had a love for English, Salema qualified to teach it as a foreign language and then went abroad to work in Lebanon. She taught adults at a language centre and eventually ended up helping at a school on the site of an orphanage where she met her husband. She wrote about the plight of the orphans and the article was published in the centre-spread of a Christian newspaper.   
Salema has been obsessed with whodunits since she was a teenager and was challenged to write her own by her sister Jess. Not knowing where to start she took herself off to college to do a crime writing course with published crime authors Lesley Thomson and Elly Griffiths and hasn’t looked back since.
She currently lives in West Sussex where she takes care of her husband, two children and two cats (not necessarily in that order!).

26 November 2015

Mice & Spiders & Webs... Oh My! | Author: Sherrill S. Cannon

Title: Mice & Spiders & Webs... Oh My! | Author: Sherrill S. Cannon | Illustrator: Kalpart | Publication Date: March 19, 2015 | Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing & Rights Agency, LLC | Pages: 30 | Recommended Ages: 3 to 8 | Reviewed by: Renee (Mother)

Mice & Spiders & Webs... Oh My!Summary: Is your child a good listener? Rosemary is a little girl who is worried about returning to school after her teacher warns the class that they would soon have some mice, spiders, and webs in the classroom. Could Rosemary have misunderstood something? How can mice and spiders and webs belong at school? Full of "Computer Speak," this story introduces young readers to basic computer terms in a delightful way! See if your child can discover the mystery of the misunderstood words, and learn about the fun of computers with Rosemary.

Get it Now Amazon button

24 November 2015

Review of Fierce Thunder by 'Mountain Biking 4 Her'*

I will admit that I am not a huge action novel reader, so I may have started out with less enthusiasm than your average reader.  I was in it for the bikes. However, after getting to know the characters in the introductory chapters, I was eager to see what would unfold.
Fierce Thunder reads like an action movie--you can't help but envision the adventures. By the time the characters were deep in the forest of Mexico I was tempted to make myself some popcorn 'cause I knew I wasn't going to be able to put the book down until I finished. Jackie and Courtney's experience in the movie biz has obviously given them the ability to grab people hook line and sinker. Great characters making tough choices in a jungle filled with danger....ON BIKES! What could be better?

Fierce Thunder
By Courtney Silberberg and Jacquelyn Kinkade Silberberg

Read book excerpt (preview)

Download Book Flyer

 Ebook | Kobo | Google Play | Amazon Kindle US | Amazon Kindle Uk | Apple iBook | Nook
Paperback | Amazon US | Amazon UK

*'Mountain Bike for Her' is an online mountain bike magazine for women!

20 November 2015

Africa's 'Big Five' Wild Animals, the fourth book in the 'My First Travel by Anna Othitis'

About the Book

front cover 2 [81358]
Title: Africa's "Big Five" Wild Animals (My First Travel Book #4) | Author: Anna Othitis | Illustrator: Cecelia Morgan | Publication Date: October 27, 2015 | Publisher: Independent | Pages: 39 | Recommended Ages: 3 to 9

Amazon * Goodreads


ellie 8 (2)Book Description:

Welcome to Angelic Airlines! Are you ready to take to the skies? Children come join us this time on a wild adventure with Captain Frankie on Angelic Airlines as we travel across the world to learn about, visit and see Africa's Big "5" Wildlife Animals. Captain Frankie is waiting for you to book your ticket, safely stow your bags, and open your eyes to these amazing animals in the savannahs of Africa. Most of these beautiful animals are about to become Extinct. We have to save our Wildlife animals, this earth belongs to them as well. My First Travel Books. This is another one of Anna Othitis’s trip with Captain Frankie. Originally from Zimbabwe, Africa, her travels have taken her a far across the world.

18 November 2015

The Secret of the Sacred Scarab

Chronicles of the Stone - collage

About the Books

Book 1: The Secret of the Sacred Scarab

The Secret of the Sacred Scarab by Fiona IngramTitle: The Secret of the Sacred Scarab
Author: Fiona Ingram
Publication Date: December 30, 2008
Publisher: iUniverse
Pages: 272
Recommended Age: 10+

Amazon (U.S. Print) * Amazon (U.S. Kindle)

Book Depository * Barnes & Noble

16 November 2015

'Finn's Rocket: A Surfer Catches Air' by Serena Schreiber. "A well-paced, funny and highly infectious read!"

About the Book

Rocket-front coverTitle: Finn's Rocket: A Surfer Catches Air (Finn's Fast Books, Book #3) | Author: Serena Schreiber | Publication Date: November 1, 2015 | Publisher: Independent | Pages: 176 | Recommended Ages: 7 to 12

Amazon * Goodreads

Book Description:

Finn's summer vacation plans didn't include leaving the planet.

When his little sister gets kidnapped from space camp, Finn will do anything and go anywhere to get her back. Even the international space station.

Finn - Schreiber - collage