28 March 2017

How to Create Captivating Crime Fiction Stories


 Beginner's Guide to Writing Mystery Fiction


Tutor: Ms. Debbi Mack
New York Times Bestselling Author and Screenwriter

23 March 2017

The New York Times® Bestsellers - Our featured Paperback Fiction - A Man Called Ove


A Man Called Ove
The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US.
New York Times bestseller

'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' SpectatorBooks of the Year

3 March 2017

Caged - A Captivating Page-turner

Genre: Fiction: Romance


Twenty-two year old Lydia Jones lives at the top of the social ladder in the town of Riverwalk, Pennsylvania. She has spent the last four years of her life under constant scrutiny. She is weary of her ever present mask and secretly wishes to break free.
Simon Partridge comes into her life one rainy evening when her father hosts a dinner party. Simon begins to show Lydia the freedom she once had and the love she deserves.
Blossoming love is put to the test as jealousy, manipulative family members, and unexpected danger interrupts their lives. Can they survive the trials of life or will their love fail when a trip to New York becomes disastrous?
 
…Find out more…visit book page


“Passionately Captivating” …publishedbestsellers.com




Further Information  |  Spring Leaf Books

Book Flyer


3 February 2017

Going Against the Grain | The Creator's Diet Explained

Genre: Dietetics and nutrition, Diets and dieting


The array of highly processed and refined food options created to appeal to our senses coupled with our hectic lifestyles, have resulted in a massive shift from consuming a wholesome diet. A real mind-set change is necessary to go against the grain and take charge of our diets and lives.
What we eat ultimately determines how well we function, consequently it is of uttermost importance that we feed on the best foods for our health.
This book encourages the reader to regain control of their lives by applying seven simple dietary and lifestyle principles. The Creator’s Diet Explained simplifies healthy eating and explains the basics in food and dietary principles. In this edition you will discover the following:
• The seven foundational principles of The Creator’s Diet
• The role of a healthy diet in helping to maintain health
• Many practical tips, meal options and much more...

…Find out more…visit book page


“Wholesome food for thought” …publishedbestsellers.com




Further Information  |  Spring Leaf Books

Book Flyer


20 January 2017

A review of 'In all Probability: A collection of short stories'

This collection of 30 short tales packs in so much its hard to know where to start. Each tale packs a lot in with plenty of implied and hinted backstories and endings that let you build on the teaser style writing that Morris uses. Because of this, these stories don't feel anywhere near as short as they are and before you know it you have been pulled into Morris' world in all its strange, scary, odd and unsettling glory. Morris's writing flows as well as ever and will appeal to all types of reader (unless you really don't like short stories, but even then you should try these to see how well they can be done). I was particularly fond of It's An Ill Wind and Dead Eye, and was somewhat amused by Progress and Better Late Than Never. A few of the tales were also quite touching, especially Swan Song which I think definitely ranks in one of my favourites. A great collection, proven by the fact that I read the lot in one evening...oops.

Sam's review, Dec 30, 2016
Genre: Fiction: Short Stories

6 January 2017

The Five Facets of Murder - A Sparkling Page-Turner

Genre: Fiction: Crime Detective Mystery


The Percival diamond disappears when twins, William and Elsie Percival, are children. Not too long afterwards, their parents die. They  unearth a trunk in the attic; the contents: the secret to the Percival diamond, and set out to find out what happened to it. Mary, their cousin, whom the siblings have not seen in many years, may be able to unlock the mystery and so a house party is organised in her honour.
The party guests that arrive at Oakmere Hall are a mixed bunch. Death also pays a visit, bringing Inspector Thomas and his bumbling sidekick Constable Turner up to the estate to try to unravel the enigma.

…Find out more…visit book page

Reviews

"A jewel of a novel, shimmering with intrigue and suspense."
…publishedbestsellers.com


"I couldn’t put it down, and I didn't guess the murderer either!"
…Francis Gershwin, Office Manager.


"Compelling mixture of chills … with threads of humour running through it."
…George Long, Librarian.


"All the elements of the 1930s murder mysteries are captured in this story."
…Polly Stroud, Nurse.


"Brilliant whodunit with laugh-out-loud moments. I love this author’s style."
…Janet Morgan




Further Information  |  Spring Leaf Books

Book Flyer


18 December 2016

Can the Passivity of the Protagonist Spoil the Perception of Your Book


I decided to raise a very interesting topic that, in most cases, is typical to novice authors, but sometimes peculiar to both advanced and world-known writers.

Yes, today I’m going to talk about the passivity of the protagonist. That is the hero that has no will and acts at the behest of others. So why does this phenomenon take place in literary works, and how does it affect the success of the book? Finally, how to deal with it?