Posts

The Zookeeper's Wife: An unforgettable true story, now a major film

Image
In war-torn Warsaw, a zookeeper and his wife refuse to surrender...  Now a major motion picture starring Jessica Chastain and Daniel Brühl, Diane Ackerman's  The Zookeeper's Wife  is based on a remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II. Perfect for fans of  Lion  and  Hidden Figures. 'I can't imagine a better story or storyteller.  The Zookeeper's Wife  will touch every nerve you have' -Jonathan Safran Foer, author of  Everything is Illuminated When Germany invades Poland, Luftwaffe bombers devastate Warsaw and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals killed, or stolen away to Berlin, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski begin smuggling Jews into the empty cages. As the war escalates Jan becomes increasingly involved in the anti-Nazi resistance. Ammunition is buried in the elephant enclosure and explosives stored in the animal hospital. Plans are prepared for what will become the Warsaw uprising. T

Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life...And Maybe the World

Image
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "Should be read by every leader in America...a book to inspire your children and grandchildren to become everything that they can." --Wall Street Journal "Powerful." --USA Today "Full of captivating personal anecdotes from inside the national security vault." --Washington Post "Superb, smart, and succinct." --Forbes BASED ON THE INCREDIBLE GRADUATION SPEECH WITH OVER 10 MILLION VIEWS ON YOUTUBE If you want to change the world, start off by making your bed. On May 17, 2014, Admiral William H. McRaven addressed the graduating class of the University of Texas at Austin on their Commencement day. Taking inspiration from the university's slogan, "What starts here changes the world," he shared the ten principles he learned during Navy Seal training that helped him overcome challenges not only in his training and long Naval career, but also throughout his life; and he explained how anyone can us

The NYT Bestsellers - A Dog's Purpose: A novel for humans | W. Bruce Cameron

Image
This is the remarkable story of one endearing dog's search for his purpose over the course of several lives. More than just another charming dog story,  A Dog's Purpose  touches on the universal quest for an answer to life's most basic question: Why are we here? Surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy after a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders - will he ever find his purpose? Heartwarming, insightful, and often laugh-out-loud funny,  A Dog's Purpose  is not only the emotional and hilarious story of a dog's many lives, but also a dog's-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man'

The New York Times® Bestsellers - Our featured Hardcover Fiction - Norse Mythology

Image
Norse Mythology By Neil Gaiman The great Norse myths are woven into the fabric of our storytelling – from Tolkien, Alan Garner and Rosemary Sutcliff to  Game of Thrones  and Marvel Comics. They are also an inspiration for Neil Gaiman's own award-bedecked, bestselling fiction. Now he reaches back through time to the original source stories in a thrilling and vivid rendition of the great Norse tales. Gaiman's gods are thoroughly alive on the page – irascible, visceral, playful, passionate – and the tales carry us from the beginning of everything to Ragnarok and the twilight of the gods. Galvanised by Gaiman's prose, Thor, Loki, Odin and Freya are irresistible forces for modern readers and the crackling, brilliant writing demands to be read aloud around an open fire on a freezing, starlit night. Get your copy

How to Create Captivating Crime Fiction Stories

Image
  Beginner's Guide to Writing Mystery Fiction Tutor: Ms. Debbi Mack New York Times Bestselling Author and Screenwriter

The New York Times® Bestsellers - Our featured Paperback Fiction - A Man Called Ove

Image
The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step.  Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's  The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry,  Graeme Simsion's  The Rosie Project and  David Nicholl's  US. New York Times  bestseller 'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving'  Daily Mail 'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it'  Spectator Books of the Year

Caged - A Captivating Page-turner

Image
Twenty-two year old Lydia Jones lives at the top of the social ladder in the town of Riverwalk, Pennsylvania. She has spent the last four years of her life under constant scrutiny. She is weary of her ever present mask and secretly wishes to break free. Simon Partridge comes into her life one rainy evening when her father hosts a dinner party. Simon begins to show Lydia the freedom she once had and the love she deserves. Blossoming love is put to the test as jealousy, manipulative family members, and unexpected danger interrupts their lives. Can they survive the trials of life or will their love fail when a trip to New York becomes disastrous?   …Find out more… visit book page “Passionately Captivating” …publishedbestsellers.com